Home > Magazine > Tidbits > 2007 Guggenheim Fellows And Abel Prize Winner


2007 Guggenheim Fellows And Abel Prize Winner

May 2007
2007 Guggenheim Fellows And Abel Prize Winner

The five Indian American Guuggenheim Fellows this year include a jazz musician (Rudresh Mahanthappa), two computer scientists (Sanjeev Kumar and Salil Vadhan), an author (Suketu Mehta), and an earth scientist (Arjun Heimsath). Picked from a pool of almost 2800 applicants, each winner gets more than $40,000. Also worth mentioning is that, for the first time since its inception in 2002, the Abel Prize has been awarded to an Indian American, Srinivasa Varadhan, who is with the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences in New York. Dubbed the Nobel Prize for math, Norway-based Abel is worth $920,000. "Over the last four decades," as the committee puts its, Varadhan's "theory of large deviations has become a cornerstone of modern probability, both pure and applied."

Enjoyed reading Khabar magazine? Subscribe to Khabar and get a full digital copy of this Indian-American community magazine.

  • Add to Twitter
  • Add to Facebook
  • Add to Technorati
  • Add to Slashdot
  • Add to Stumbleupon
  • Add to Furl
  • Add to Blinklist
  • Add to Delicious
  • Add to Newsvine
  • Add to Reddit
  • Add to Digg
  • Add to Fark
blog comments powered by Disqus

Back to articles






Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Click here    

Peachtree Orthopedics web ad.jpg

Mirus EB-5 Banner AD2.png


Global Holidays.jpeg

Krishnan Co WebBanner.jpg



SDK small banner 7-16.jpg