Home > Magazine > Tidbits > Decoding the Abbreviations in Indian Politics


Decoding the Abbreviations in Indian Politics

April 2009
Decoding the Abbreviations in Indian Politics

NDA, BSP, UPA, BJP, TDP, CPI(M). Are you stumped by some of these abbreviations?

You’re not alone. As the campaigns for India’s 2009 general election gather momentum, anybody who’s not familiar with the intricacies of Indian politics will need a cheat sheet. In mutilingual India, where multiple parties and coalitions are the norm, abbreviations, symbols and acronyms come in handy for the electorate as easy-to-understand labels.

Here’s an incomplete list in no particular order:

INLD: Indian National Lok Dal

UPA: United Progressive Alliance

NDA: National Democratic Alliance

UF: United Front

UNPA: United National Progressive Alliance

BJP: Bharatiya Janata Party

BSP: Bahujan Samaj Party

CPI(M): Communist Party of India (Marxist)

NPF: Nagaland People’s Front

TDP: Telugu Desam Party

TRS: Telangana Rashtra Samithi

AIADMK: All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam

Enjoyed reading Khabar magazine? Subscribe to Khabar and get a full digital copy of this Indian-American community magazine.

  • Add to Twitter
  • Add to Facebook
  • Add to Technorati
  • Add to Slashdot
  • Add to Stumbleupon
  • Add to Furl
  • Add to Blinklist
  • Add to Delicious
  • Add to Newsvine
  • Add to Reddit
  • Add to Digg
  • Add to Fark
blog comments powered by Disqus

Back to articles






Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Click here    

Peachtree Orthopedics web ad.jpg

Mirus EB-5 Banner AD2.png


Global Holidays.jpeg

Krishnan Co WebBanner.jpg



SDK small banner 7-16.jpg