Home > Magazine > Around Town > Atlanta Cricket League concludes spring knock-out and inaugurates championships


Atlanta Cricket League concludes spring knock-out and inaugurates championships

May 2013
Atlanta Cricket League concludes spring knock-out and inaugurates championships

For hard ball tennis cricket enthusiasts in Atlanta and its suburbs there is no dearth of live cricket action. East Roswell Park was the venue of this year’s curtain-raiser events. Atlanta Cricket League (ACL) 2013 season started with a bang with the SVK Systems ACL Knock Out Spring 2013 Finals and the inauguration of the Paramount Software ACL 2013 League Championships.

The Championship will be played over 6 months, with 76 participating teams in the nine-a-side hard ball tennis cricket. The ACL League tournament has become the bedrock of Atlanta summers and an obsession for the diaspora of cricketing nations.

The Spring Finals was played between Corpteq Indians and Gallega Blazers. Batting first, Gallega Blazers managed a score of 76 runs in their allotted 10 overs, with the help of Raj Shankar’s 56 in 33 balls. Corpteq Indians, riding on a swashbuckling knock of 54 runs in just 21 balls by Chaintanya Tatikonda, surmounted the Gallega Blazers total with 4.2 overs to spare. Chaintanya Tatikonda deservingly received the man of the match award for his splendid batting performance in the finals.

Speaking at the award ceremony, Guest of Honor Mr. Hanuman Nandanampati, CEO of SVK Systems, the title sponsor of the ACL Knock-Out Spring 2013 tournament, congratulated the participants.



Super Striker Finalists

The Finals were followed by a slug-fest as the big-hitters of Atlanta Cricket League competed in the SVK Systems ACL Super Striker 2013 tourney. Competing with both man (bowlers) and machine, it rained sixes and fours as 10 finalists hit the ball all around the park.

In the final face-off, Abhijit Katragadda of Corpteq Indians got the better of Sanjeev Kotha of RapidIT Royals, to be crowned the SVK Systems ACL 2013 Super Striker.

Anj Balusu, President of ACL, said “This is the first time the ACL has conducted the Super Striker tournament and we are very encouraged with the participation and competition.” He also congratulated Sanjay Narla, Vice President of ACL and Lead coordinator of the tournaments, on the successful completion.

The day culminated with Guest of Honor Mr. Pramod Sajja, CEO of Paramount Software, the Title Sponsor of the ACL 2013 League Championships, officially inaugurating the 15 over a side main league season. “With 28 teams comprising the ACL Premier League and 48 teams comprising the ACL Star League, this is the biggest annual cricketing event hosted in the city of Atlanta, and we are proud to be the title sponsor for the second year”, Mr. Sajja noted.

Enjoyed reading Khabar magazine? Subscribe to Khabar and get a full digital copy of this Indian-American community magazine.

  • Add to Twitter
  • Add to Facebook
  • Add to Technorati
  • Add to Slashdot
  • Add to Stumbleupon
  • Add to Furl
  • Add to Blinklist
  • Add to Delicious
  • Add to Newsvine
  • Add to Reddit
  • Add to Digg
  • Add to Fark

Back to articles








Sign up for our weekly newsletter



National Retail Solutions.gif  


Krishnan Co WebBanner.jpg

Embassy Bank_gif.gif 



Untitled-1 copy.jpg