Home > Magazine > Around Town > NATA sponsors Amritavarshini Anthyakshari


NATA sponsors Amritavarshini Anthyakshari

July 2014
NATA sponsors Amritavarshini Anthyakshari

NATA Core Committee members being recognized by Amruthavarshini.

The North American Telugu Association (NATA) reached out once again to sponsor and to help conduct the Anthyakshari celebrations to celebrate the anniversary of Amruthavarshini in Atlanta. Amruthavarshini (AV) is a well-known nonprofit organization in Atlanta that supports Telugu literature and music by providing a platform for children and adults to participate and relish the warmth and beauty of Telugu culture.


Convener Bala Indurti recognizing community leaders.

NATA leaders Dr. Prem Reddy and Dr. Malla Reddy, the grand sponsors for the Anthyakshari event, have been actively helping thousands of people across India and US through their charitable activities.


NATA Convention Committee members recognized by NATA BOD and Convenor Bala Indurti.

Under their aegis, NATA is gearing actively to celebrate its second convention on July 4 - 6, 2014 in Atlanta under the stewardship of president Dr. Sanjeeva Reddy. This biennial NATA convention has over 200 groups of volunteers working across the US, Canada, and India, and is expected to receive 10,000 people of Telugu origin at the GWCC Convention center.

The musical Anthyakshari event was designed by Atlanta’s creative literary doyen, Phani Dokka (photo below, 2nd from left). Phani has a penchant for combining wit and wisdom, and his skills in literature and music were evident in his quiz competition. Eleven teams participated in the fun as they were challenged to think on their feet and discover the answers to innovative questions on Telugu film songs. If “dumb charades” were required to get to the song in some rounds, finding songs with a certain word in the pallavi (thematic line of a song) was the challenge in some others. The 8-hour musical quiz competition continued with nail biting suspense and had all the thrills of a roller coaster ride. The audience was engaged completely in the fun, and several awards went to audience members for their correct answers as well!


The winners of Anthyakshari being announced by Amruthavarshini.

Phani and Bhanu Sri ably conducted the proceedings. Suvidha restaurant provided a sumptuous dinner and snacks at a very reasonable price. After 10 rounds of challenging competition, the following three teams were declared as winners and will proceed to the grand finals at the NATA Convention. In addition, wild card teams were formed from the remaining teams in the spirit of engagement! The teams that made it to the finals are as follows:
First Prize ($500 and Trophies): Vinod Gandikota, Sandhya Eswara, Sunita Medarametla, Sushma Sarikonda, Uma Jamched
Second Prize ($300 and Trophies): Bala Indurti, Madhavi Indurti, Neelima Gaddamanugu, Pratima Nallagatla, Shailaja Gella
Third Prize ($200 and Trophies): Gopal Turaga, Usha Mocherla, Jayashree Tangirala, Rajasri Bhushan, Jyoti Sitaram

Photo Gallery:

Thanks and gratitude to the following:
Grand sponsors of the event, Dr.Prem Reddy and Dr.Malla Reddy for their generosity.
Convener Bala Reddy Indurti,
Coordinator Srini Vangimalla,
Co-convener T. Satyanarayana Reddy,
Core Committee members Ramesh Chaparala & Goutham Goli,
Prabhakar Boyapati,
NATA Publicity chair Kiran Kandula,
Media Chair Venkat Mondeddu,
Cultural chair Venkat Chennubhotla,
Dr G.V.Rao and Sridhar Vakiti, Guru Paradarami, Jagadeesh Cheemarla, Gireesh Meka, Suresh Karothu and all the other NATA leaders who helped in making the program a grand success.
Kiran Reddy Pasham for his continued support to Antyakashari programs.
Shri Prabhakar Boyapalli, Shri Meher Lanka, Smt Vijaya Lanka,
Atlanta Telugu organizations GATA, TAMA, and TCI.
Smt Hyma & Sri Sai Prakash Chatruvedula, Sneha Chaturvedula Smt Prameela Gopu, Smt Usha Darisipudi for their commitment and support in getting the quiz content into such an exciting shape and form.
Yupp TV for working diligently to broadcast the entire event LIVE on TV, and TV5 for coverage.
Judges Radha Chennubhotla, Srini Vangimalla, Uma Vempati and Jyotsna Yendapalli.

[The article above appears only on the website for June, not in the June print/digital issues.]

Enjoyed reading Khabar magazine? Subscribe to Khabar and get a full digital copy of this Indian-American community magazine.

  • Add to Twitter
  • Add to Facebook
  • Add to Technorati
  • Add to Slashdot
  • Add to Stumbleupon
  • Add to Furl
  • Add to Blinklist
  • Add to Delicious
  • Add to Newsvine
  • Add to Reddit
  • Add to Digg
  • Add to Fark

Back to articles








Sign up for our weekly newsletter




Krishnan Co WebBanner.jpg


Embassy Bank_gif.gif