Home > Magazine > Community Newsmakers > Atlantan picked as new president of ATA


Atlantan picked as new president of ATA

Compiled/partly written by Suzanne Sen Email Compiled/partly written by Suzanne Sen
February 2017
Atlantan picked as new president of ATA


(Left) The new ATA president, Karunakar Asireddy, takes the oath of office.

The American Telugu Association (ATA), an umbrella body of the Telugu community in the United States, has held its board meeting at the Bellagio Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada on Saturday, January 14, 2017. Karunakar Asireddy, a long-time resident of Atlanta, was sworn in as the new president of the organization.

Aside from the ATA board members, standing committee Chairs, and Regional Coordinators, prominent Telugu community members from across America attended the meeting. In all, more than 200 delegates came from across the US. Incumbent President Sudhakar Perkari passed on the baton to the new president. Along with Asireddy, a revamped board of trustees has also been installed.

ATA unanimously elected 13 of its board of trustees (BOT) from different categories:
Bhuvanesh Boojala, Parashuram Pinnapureddy, Vinod Koduru, Jayanth Challa, Krishna Dyapa, Ravinder Reddy, Raghuveer Bandaru, Murali Bommanaveni, Soumya Kondapalli, Kiran Reddy Pasham, Raghuveer Reddy, Rinda Kumar Sama, Sharat Vemula. All members of BOT took the oath and promised to uphold the ATA constitution and bylaws. The new trustees will be in place for a four-year term beginning this year (2017-2020). ATA new board has elected Parmesh Bheemreddy as President-Elect in a unanimous vote and he will serve as President for 2019-2020.

President Karunakar Asireddy, in his inaugural address, noted that ATA, as an organization, continued to remember its main mission: to preserve and maintain the heritage of all American Telugus; and to promote literary, cultural, educational, religious, social, and economic activities of the community, and other aspects as mentioned in the ATA charter. He unveiled the new committee’s vision and plan of action for the next two years, to include counseling on immigration and jobs for students, skill enhancement training for ATA members, free online SAT training and college admission counseling for high school students, medical/dental camps for visiting parents, and expanding emergency services for Telugu community.


The new Executive Committee of the ATA.

The ATA board elected the executive committee for 2017 and 2018. The following are members:
President: Karunakar Asireddy
President-Elect: Parmesh Bheemreddy
Secretary: Soumya Kondapalli
Treasurer: Kiran Pasham
Joint Secretary: Venugopal Rao Sankineni
Joint Treasurer: Srinivas Dargula

Executive Director: Madhavi Bommineni

Past President: Sudhakar Perkari

Other Board of Trustees members:
Ajay Reddy
Arvind Reddy Muppidi
Bhuvanesh Boojala
Hariprasad Lingala
Jayanth Challa
Krishna Dyapa
Meher Medavaram
Murali Bommanaveni
Narendar Reddy Cheemerla
Parashuram Pinnapureddy
Rajeshwar Rao Tekmal
Raghuveer Bhandaru
Raghuveer Reddy
Ravinder Patlola
Ravinder Reddy
Rinda Kumar Sama
Sharath Vemula
Sreeram Reddy
Srinivas Dargula
Vijaypal Reddy Kundur
Vinod Koduru

Executive Director: Madhavi Bommineni
International Coordinators: Sreekanth Gudipati, Kashivishwanath Reddy Kotha
Office Coordinator: Rajyalaxmi Boyapalli
Conference Convener: Satish Ramsayam Reddy
Conference Coordinator: Dheeraj Akula

American Telugu Association
P.O. Box 4496, Naperville, IL 60567
Phone: (630) 783-2250, Fax: (630) 783-2251
Non-Profit Organization Tax. I.D. # 36-3723725
E-mail: info@ americanteluguassociation.org

Photos: https://plus.google.com/101997230569060449827/posts/Ledzh1nDVpQ

[The article above contains additional material not in the print and digital issues.]

Enjoyed reading Khabar magazine? Subscribe to Khabar and get a full digital copy of this Indian-American community magazine.

  • Add to Twitter
  • Add to Facebook
  • Add to Technorati
  • Add to Slashdot
  • Add to Stumbleupon
  • Add to Furl
  • Add to Blinklist
  • Add to Delicious
  • Add to Newsvine
  • Add to Reddit
  • Add to Digg
  • Add to Fark
blog comments powered by Disqus

Back to articles








Sign up for our weekly newsletter




Krishnan Co WebBanner.jpg


Embassy Bank_gif.gif